World Council elects 11 new Executive Committee Members

Date: 06 July 2022

Today 11 new World YMCA Executive Committee members were named, as the official voting delegates of the 20th YMCA World Council chose a diverse and experienced group to serve for the next four years, 2022-2026. The proceedings follow Tuesday’s Officer elections, in which a new President, Deputy-President and Treasurer were announced.

The new Executive Committee members are:


Mr. Ronald Senghore, The Gambia

Ms. Nalisoa Andrianarivo, Madagascar


Asia and Pacific

Ms. Karren Joy Fetalvero, The Philippines

Mr. Christopher Lewis, Australia



Ms. Brenda Flaherty, Canada



Ms. Lena Schickhaus, Germany

Ms. Sarah Bremner, Scotland


Middle East

Ms. Maurine Kouba, East Jerusalem


Latin America and Caribbean

Mr. Cristiano Freitas Ristov, Brazil

Ms. Anaclara Rodriguez Canzani, Uruguay



Mr. Harvin Vallabhaneni, USA


  • Carry out the policy and specific instructions of the World Council, to complete all matters committed to its charge, and to act with all the powers of the World Council
  • To monitor the work, finances and personnel of the World Alliance.
  • To undertake the planning and orientation of World Council meetings.
  • To undertake such actions and responsibilities as required for the good governance of the World Alliance and as required by the World Alliance or World Council in compliance with the Constitution, Resolutions and all proposals of the World Council.
  • To appoint the Secretary General.
  • To represent the World Alliance in its relationship with other world organisations.
  • To issue each year the call for observance by Young Men’s Christian Associations throughout the world of the Week of Prayer and World Fellowship.